Formation of the Negro National League

On February 13 and 14, 1920 several baseball executives met in Kansas City, MO at the Y.M.C.A. and formed the Negro National League. Team owners representing the following cities attended the meeting: Chicago, Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City, St. Louis and Washington, D.C.

Baseball executives and newspaper reporters that attended the meeting in Kansas City were:

Executive	Team	
Andrew "Rube" Foster	Chicago American Giants	
Joe Green	Chicago Giants	
John "Tenny" Blount	Detroit Stars	
C.I. Taylor	Indianapolis ABCs	
J.L. Wilkinson	Kansas City Monarchs	
Lorenzo S. Cobb	St. Louis Giants	
W.A. Kelly	Washington, D.C.	
Elwood C. Knox	Indianapolis Freeman	
Charles Marshall	Indianapolis Ledger	
Gary B. Lewis	Chicago Defender (sports editor)	
Frank Young	Chicago Defender	
Elisha Scott	Attorney	
Dave Wyatt	Journalist	

Agustin Molina (Cuban Stars) and John Matthews (Dayton Marcos) did not attend the meeting but made it known prior to the meeting that they were both in favor of the new league proposed by Foster.

During the meeting, Andrew "Rube" Foster of the Chicago American Giants was elected as President of the Negro National league.

Each team paid a \$ 500 franchise fee to the "league."

Prior to the meeting, Rube Foster incorporated the Negro National League in the states of Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, New York, Ohio and Pennsylvania. These states are where Foster saw the teams playing most of their games.

The constitution and bylaws of the Negro National League were written by Elisha Scott, Gary B. Lewis, Elwood Knox and Dave Wyatt.

Originally the plans were to start the season in 1921, but there was so much excitement about the "new" league that season play was scheduled to begin in May of 1920.

Chicago Defender 02-14-20

Afro American 02-27-20

The teams that competed in the inaugural season of the Negro National League and the final order of standing were as follows:

1920	Games	Record	Pct.
Chicago American Giants	45	32-13	.711
Detroit Stars	58	35-23	.603
Kansas City Monarchs	70	41-29	.586
Indianapolis ABCs	74	39-35	.527
Cuban Stars	45	21-24	.467
St. Louis Giants	57	25-32	.439
Dayton Marcos	26	8-18	.308
Chicago Giants	28	4-24	.143

The Bacharach Giants were an Associate Member of the "league" in 1920.

Rube Foster's Chicago American Giants won the inaugural Negro National League title. There was no Play-Off Series held.